What you see can hurt you and more importantly them.

“Rachel was right about Megan, she was right about everything.” – The girl on the train.

The problem with that statement is that it’s at the end of the movie when two people are already dead, a little girl is left fatherless and there is emotional damage to at least four people – what about that? So admitting she was right at the end, what did it really change?

Stop judging people and situations based on outward appearance. Listen to what they are saying to you. Look at the facts and then make a decision using your own common sense. Why wait for tragedy when you could avoid it by just listening and being rational instead of forming opinions based on hearsay? This scenario plays out in real life all too often and on-lookers who could have stepped in to avoid further damage are just as guilty as perpetrators of violent crimes.

So many on-lookers claim innocence and apologize much later in life when they finally realize the error in their judgement. A mere “I’m sorry for not believing you” which is meant to be accepted swiftly, and we all move along and carry on with our lives. Hang on, no. I will accept your apology and appreciate that you have gotten to this place in your life. I will even pray to my God for strength within me to forgive you as He has forgiven me. But may we please pause for an hour or so and just address the actual damage that was caused by you turning your blind eye or you shutting yourself off from hearing me speak? Here I am no longe speaking of the crime itself. Here I am speaking of the additional pain, hurt, humiliation, added attack as a direct result of me not being heard. That in itself is an injustice. A separate crime if you will. I liken it to walking past an innocent person being beat up in the street. Would you stand and look on as this person gets beaten to a pulp and then step in to assist or would you see the first blow and immediately act? Would you ask this innocent person what they think they could have done to prevent the senseless attack? “Uhm well next time I’ll just not ever walk down the street. This is what I have done to bring on this attack” ok let us take this into advisement and get back to you meanwhile attacker do continue your assault, us as witnesses need more time to consider whether in fact this victim deserves this or not!

Are you kidding me with this thought process here? And then when all is said and done and years have passed and the “I’m sorry” was said these on-lookers dare to ask “But why are you so angry? That’s not very Godly behavior” <shoots self in kneecaps>

And then. It happens again. And again. And again. In almost every other similar scenario, same victim, same on-lookers different attacker – same outcome! Rinse, lather, repeat.

“Rachel was right about Megan, she was right about everything.”

How many delayed apologies and delayed reactions does one need to withstand? How long will on-lookers continue to turn a blind eye and a deaf ear and play an active role in the cycle of abuse that is so prevalent in our society? And how long will we as a society continue to not hold witnesses accountable for their role in non-action? Non-action is action and witnesses need to be held accountable for their role in the cycle of abuse.

As simple as I can put it: your ignorance could be the difference between a fractured ankle and a bust up head. Your ignorance could be the difference between one beating and her murder, in her sleep, in her bed in front of her children on Christmas Eve. Would you then ask her limp body discovered by police after New Year’s Day: “What could you have done differently to avoid your death” and what would she say if you did? “I could have not slept peacefully in my bed, in my home. I instead should have remained awake. I’m sorry, now I am dead.”

Leave a comment