SUNDAY LUNCH IS NON NEGOTIABLE

Every family is different! Sunday lunch has always been an institution in my family. A non negotiable – we will sit together as a family and we will eat around the table and heaven forbid you chose to be anywhere else but around that table!

I created these rules even when I lived with my parents. I cooked on Sunday’s even when I got home past “dik gesuip” with a moerse babalas I will take my panado and continue to make that lunch because eat around that table we will! I get this from my aunty Sue. She always had a curry and a roast at the ready for any occasion. Because what do we do? We cook!

I miss Sue at moments like these with her whisky in one hand, menthol cigarettes in the other and wooden spoon at the ready. She made sure everyone was always well fed and well taken care of even in times of crisis. When Sue died I froze for a moment and I didn’t know what to do or how to be – so I started cooking pots and pots of curry to distribute amongst the family because I know this is what Sue would have been doing had it not been her in the crisis. I miss you so much my dear aunt. I have so many stories to tell you and you would be so proud of me if you could see me now. Not that timid little girl anymore. I am the woman you always said I would be and the woman you always tried to pull out of me and I remember your words: I am woman hear me roar…and I remember singing this at the top of our lungs on our last visit together at your home in Durban.

I won’t ever get over your loss but I sure will keep on cooking! May you Rest In Peace. 💔

P.S I even smoke your brand of cigarettes now and I won’t change it because I miss you that much.

Leave a comment